#DiverseAThon January 2017

I don’t normally post these sorts of things, but Naz at ReadDiverseBooks was very convincing about the need to promote the #DiverseAThon and maybe I have a few readers who might not know about it yet.

It runs from January 22nd to the 29th and “The goal of Diverse-A-Thon is simply to celebrate diversity in literature by reading diverse books all week and engage in thoughtful discussions on Twitter under the #DiverseAthon hashtag. The readathon will largely remain the same. It is low-stress and there no challenges – just read as many diverse books as you are comfortable reading in 7 days. There will be daily chats on Twitter this time around as well, so be sure to follow the @Diverseathon Twitter account to stay updated on all future news regarding the chats.”

challenge-cropped-resized
January 2017 #DiverseAThon TBR

It takes me ages to plan and write a review (I’m not great with cameras), and some of these I might not review, so just like last month’s book haul, this is what I’m (hopefully) reading and what you might see reviewed in the distant future.

It might seem excessive but I read a lot and most of these are middle grade novels which only take a day to read.

Three books I definitely want to read this week:

-Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith
Technically I read the first chapter of this book when I first bought it, and I loved it enough that I bought and read Orleans.  But I could tell right away this was a narrative that wouldn’t hold up under constant reading breaks so I’ve been waiting for a period of time where I can obsessively read it in a few days.  I expect to love it.

-The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney
This is a novel in verse, which I don’t like.  But it’s by a Pinkney, which is a good thing.  I’m not sure what to expect as the reviews have been favorable, but the format works against it.

Claudette Colvin Twice Toward Justice  .
I read a preview of this also and am really anticipating it.  I was going to try to wait until I finished the Mandela book or some of my library books, but the heck with it, it’s a short book that will be great for this challenge.  (Nonfiction – Teenage Claudette refused to give up her seat on the bus long before Rosa Parks but has been mostly ignored by history.)

The other books I might read this week:

-Encore Grace and Bravo, Grace by Mary Hoffman
As soon as I heard that there were more books about Amazing Grace, I had to get them.  These are elementary chapter books which read quickly.  I wanted some flexibility on my TBR in case I needed to read something shorter instead with a busy work week.

-Scraps of Time: A Song for Harlem
I really wanted to read this series in order but this is the one I own.  So maybe I will pick them up out of order.  The first book was so good, I’m excited to see if the rest of the series delivers.

-One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
I’ve had this one for a while and just haven’t gotten into it, maybe I will this week.

Plus also:

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly  .
This is sort of a stand-in.  I am currently part-way through this book as pictured and hoping to finish before the challenge.  If I finish this and the Claudette Colvin book (both non-fiction), then I plan to read the Young Reader’s edition of this book which wasn’t around for this photo.  I would like to use it with my students, but was so excited about the book that I wanted the original adult version for myself.  A quick glance through the first chapter tells me that this was the right choice as there is far more detail in the adult version.  I plan to review both eventually (in a few months).

—-

All of these books were either Christmas presents, or bought with my Christmas bonus money from work.  It’s a delight to have so many novels in the house waiting to be read!  If there are some I don’t like and the kids aren’t interested we’ll pass them along to various libraries, but I suspect we’ll be keeping most from this list.

Certainly there is a theme here as all of these books have African-American characters.  Definitely long-term I plan on branching out and am hoping to enjoy more Asian, Latin@, Middle Eastern, and Indigenous works, but right now I’m just trying to read the books currently in the house.

Have you read any of these?  What’s on your DiverseAThon TBR list?

Author: colorfulbookreviews

I work in a library by day and parent the rest of the time. I am passionate about good books representing the full spectrum of human diversity for every age group and reading level. This blog is my attempt to help parents, educators, and librarians find the best children's books authored by or featuring characters of color.

One thought on “#DiverseAThon January 2017”

Leave a Reply

