December 2016 Super Book Haul

I don’t normally post on weekends (or book hauls in general), but this weekend I just had to share!

At the moment I am so lucky to have amazing co-workers at every workplace.  While I have been only blogging for a few months, I started the 30 day project nearly a year ago and my reputation for obsession with diverse books has been spreading.  Last week a coworker brought me a stack of books!

just-for-you-series-cropped-resized
Early readers from all three levels of the Just For You series from Scholastic.

The vast majority were from an early reader series I wasn’t familiar with called Just For You.  Why have I never heard of this series?  I’m familiar with some of the authors and illustrators already, and do a lot of ordering from Scholastic.

Here are a few which looked interesting:

just-for-you-series-pic2-cropped-resized
Just for You Level One (in Yellow) Hurry Up! and Don’t Hit Me! and Level Two (in Green) A Day With Daddy and The Girls in the Circle.

Hopefully by January I’ll review these; we definitely will be reading them at home before then.

The series seems to have a nice selection of books for K up to 3rd or 4th graders, mostly realistic fiction, but with mystery, poetry, and nonfiction along with presumably others I don’t have, since there are an uneven number of books in each level.  The best part is that every book has an author and illustrator bio with pictures, and it looks like most of the authors and illustrators are #ownvoices.

Also there were the first three books in the Peter series by Ezra Jack Keats!

ezra-jack-keats-cropped-resized
The Snowy Day, Whistle for Willie, and Peter’s Chair, all by Ezra Jack Keats.

I have known and loved The Snowy Day for as long as I can remember, and have seen Whistle for Willie at the library before, but Peter’s Chair is new to me.

All in all, I received twenty books!  That is pretty amazing for a free book haul.

Now, for those of you counting, yes there are only 19 books pictured above.  I already pulled out and was reading one book because it is in line with some upcoming posts.  Normally it takes me quite a while to write a review (even a picture book review), but I’m going to try to crank this one out so you can see the last book in my haul soon.

I feel so lucky and thankful to all of my coworkers and friends who keep blessing me with books and thinking of me when they come across any diverse reads.

Author: colorfulbookreviews

I work in a library by day and parent the rest of the time. I am passionate about good books representing the full spectrum of human diversity for every age group and reading level. This blog is my attempt to help parents, educators, and librarians find the best children's books authored by or featuring characters of color.

6 thoughts on “December 2016 Super Book Haul”

Leave a Reply

