Web: Some #100indigenousbooks Lists

As I introduced earlier, this year I began a new project – to read 100 books by indigenous authors.  You can check out my progress on this page.

My main source of appropriate new-to-me books have been these lists from AICL.

I also am hoping to read many of the AIYLA winners.

Beyond that, I am also looking at authors.  Cynthia Leitich-Smith is now on auto-buy for me, and Louise Erdrich‘s historical fiction is a must read.  Anything illustrated by Julie Flett is probably wonderful, and Sherman Alexie is a solid author, as is Joseph Bruchac.  I definitely want to read more Richard Van Camp, even though it’s difficult to get some of his books in the US.

Here’s a great list I recently found: 7 Female American Indian Novelists which goes beyond the well-known and prolific to highlight some lesser-known novelists, including some #ownvoices genre fiction!

If you like graphic novels, this article has links to many Native comic books (plus a lot of cool nerdy pictures).  Another option is the Moonshot anthology which I’m hoping will give me more leads on new-to-me Native graphic novels.

For YA reading, there’s a list over at the School Library Journal: Teen Books by Native Writers to Trumpet Year-Round.

I’ve also been looking at this List of 2016 Releases by Native Authors.  Specific information is not provided on all of the authors, so it will require some more research, but is a good place to start.  I’ve already ordered a copy of The Right to be Cold based on the mostly positive reviews I’ve seen so far.

Although I probably won’t be reading most of these (because I think the majority of the adult #100indigenousbooks I read will be non-fiction), this TBR list also had a lot of new-to-me names.

What other booklists should I be looking at to diversify my reading with more Native authors?

Can anyone recommend some indigenous authors from other parts of the world?  I have a few native Australian authors on my TBR but would love to read some more and don’t have any leads on South American indigenous books.

 

Author: colorfulbookreviews

I work in a library by day and parent the rest of the time. I am passionate about good books representing the full spectrum of human diversity for every age group and reading level. This blog is my attempt to help parents, educators, and librarians find the best children's books authored by or featuring characters of color.

2 thoughts on “Web: Some #100indigenousbooks Lists”

  1. Wonderful goal and I will be putting lots of works on my tbr. Also, I got the Moonshot collection, too, so this is definitely one I’ll be reading as well 🙂 Have you read Daniel Heath Justice’s fantasy series? Also his academic works. Chrystos for poetry is awesome. And maybe you already know these lists?

    Indigeneous LGBTQIA lit
    https://www.autostraddle.com/12-awesome-native-american-and-first-nation-lgbtq-women-and-two-spirit-people-311473/

    Some Maori writers:
    http://www.anzliterature.com/feature/arent-reading-brown/

    Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fabulous! I only had one of those books on my TBR so that is a lot of new-to-me books for the list!

      I got Moonshot earlier this week and started reading it. So far a few of the comics are too scary or avant-garde for me but quite a few I’m loving. It’s nice to be able to get a feel for a wide variety of authors and illustrators.

      Like

Leave a Reply

